Logo du PLQ
Back to the press releases
Press release
16 June 2020

The Official Opposition Makes a Fresh Start

Logo du PLQ

Thank you for your interest in the Quebec Liberal Party.

Stay informed in real time and discuss with us on social media:
Twitter : @LiberalQuebec
Facebook: fb.com/LiberalQuebec

N. B. You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link placed at the bottom of each of our messages.

Subscribe to the newsletter if you support the Liberal team

Today the Leader of the Official Opposition, Ms. Dominique Anglade, announced the makeup of her new shadow cabinet and changes to her parliamentary officers. The Leader of the Official Opposition will also have the pleasure of fulfilling the role of critic responsible for the Charter of Regions.

With these important changes, we are providing Quebecers with a unified official opposition that is ready to make a fresh start. This shadow cabinet sends a clear message to the government: we will continue to defend the interests of all Quebecers. At the Quebec Liberal Party, we have a legacy to defend and a history to continue in order to build our tomorrow. 

– Dominique Anglade, Leader of the Official Opposition

Here is the list of critics for the State’s various spheres of intervention:

  • André Fortin, MNA representing Pontiac: Parliamentary Leader and Public Finances;
  • Hélène David, MNA representing Marguerite-Bourgeoys: Caucus President and the French Language;
  • Filomena Rotiroti, MNA representing Jeanne-Mance-Viger: Chief Government Whip
  • Monsef Derraji, MNA representing Nelligan: Deputy Parliamentary Leader, Small and Medium Enterprises, Innovation, Labour and Employment;
  • Pierre Arcand, MNA representing Mont-Royal-Outremont: Transport and the Metropolis;
  • Gaétan Barrette, MNA representing La Pinière: Immigration, Infrastructures, Ethics and Government Procurement;
  • Frantz Benjamin, MNA representing Viau: Environment and Youth;
  • David Birnbaum, MNA representing D’Arcy-McGee: Canadian Intergovernmental Relations, Canadian Francophonie and Mental Health;
  • Francine Charbonneau, MNA representing Mille-Îles: Professional Training and Adult Education, and Forests, Wildlife and Parks;
  • Enrico Ciccone, MNA representing Marquette: Sports, Recreation, Healthy Lifestyle Habits, The Fight Against Bullying, Responsible for the National Capital Region and Eastern Quebec;
  • Gregory Kelley, MNA representing Jacques-Cartier: Indigenous Affairs and Relations with English-Speaking Quebecers;
  • Carlos J. Leitão, MNA representing Robert-Baldwin: Economy and the Fight Against Climate Change;
  • Jennifer Maccarone, MNA representing Westmount–Saint-Louis: Diversity and Inclusion, LGBTQ2, and People Living with a Handicap or on the Autism Spectrum;
  • Isabelle Melançon, MNA representing Verdun: Culture and Communications, Tourism, Status of Women and Responsible for Western Quebec;
  • Nicole Ménard, MNA representing Laporte: International Relations;
  • Marie Montpetit, MNA representing Maurice-Richard: Health;
  • Marie-Claude Nichols, MNA representing Vaudreuil: Municipal Affairs and Housing;
  • Saul Polo, MNA representing Laval-des-Rapides: Energy and Natural Resources;
  • Marwah Rizqy, MNA representing Saint-Laurent: Education, Government Administration and the Conseil du Trésor;
  • Paule Robitaille, MNA representing Bourassa-Sauvé: Social Solidarity and Combatting Poverty;
  • Jean Rousselle, MNA representing Vimont: Public Security and Agriculture;
  • Monique Sauvé, MNA representing Fabre: Seniors;
  • Christine St-Pierre, MNA representing Acadie: Higher Education;
  • Marc Tanguay, MNA representing LaFontaine: Justice, Families, Access to Information and Electoral Reform;
  • Lise Thériault, MNA representing d’Anjou-Louis-Riel: Consumer Protection
  • Kathleen Weil, MNA representing Notre-Dame-de-Grâce: Youth Protection and Professional Laws.


*Note that information regarding MNAs responsible for specific regions will be unveiled at a later date.