Back to the press releases
Government announcement
11 October 2017

Swearing-in of Cabinet Members

Priority given to tax reduction, quality of life, regional development, innovation, and youth

Québec City, October 11, 2017. – Quebec Premier Philippe Couillard implemented changes to his Cabinet today. He took this opportunity to unveil the priorities that will guide the government’s actions in the coming months.

In the last three years, the Government of Quebec has made major changes in order to revive the Quebec economy, redress our public finances and modernize and reinvest in public services by focusing on improved access to health care and the academic success of our youth. The tax burden has been reduced, notably by eliminating the health tax.

“The efforts we’ve deployed in the last years have gained recognition across Canada and throughout the world. We are well-positioned to confront the challenges ahead. Our economy is strong, the unemployment rate is at an all-time low, and the quality and number of jobs is on the rise. Today, I present a strong, dynamic team that combines experience with youth. They will work hard to defend the interests of Quebecers and are ready to tackle the main issues Quebecers face on a daily basis,” said the Premier.

Over the coming months, the Government will act on five key issues:

  • Reduction of the tax burden
  • The quality of life of individuals and families
  • Innovation
  • The vitality of our regions
  • Youth

“By taking action on these specific issues, we hope to fulfill Quebecers’ aspirations. The transformation that we want to see for Quebec can be found in the hearts of Quebecers, workers and families. It can be found in the strength of our entrepreneurs and our SMEs. It is built on renewed confidence,” stated the Premier.

The Cabinet — Key points

  • Six new ministers have been appointed to the Cabinet.
  • The number of ministers aged younger than 45 has doubled.
  • Nine ministers had their responsibilities modified.

Here are the responsibilities entrusted to the members of his team:

Dominique Anglade
Deputy Premier
Minister of Economy, Science and Innovation
Minister responsible for the Digital Strategy

Jean-Marc Fournier
Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie
Government House Leader

Carlos Leitão
Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Vallée
Minister of Justice
Minister responsible for the Outaouais region 

Pierre Moreau
Minister of Energy and Natural Resources and Minister responsible for Plan Nord
Minister responsible for the Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine region

 Lise Thériault
Minister responsible for Consumer Protection and Housing
Minister responsible for the Lanaudière region

Stéphane Billette
Minister responsible for Small and Medium Enterprises, Regulatory Streamlining and Regional Economic Development 

André Fortin
Minister of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification

 Pierre Arcand
Minister responsible for Government Administration and Ongoing Program Review
Chair of the Conseil du trésor
Minister responsible for the Côte-Nord

Marie Montpetit
Minister of Culture and Communications and Minister responsible for the Protection and Promotion of the French Language

Gaétan Barrette
Minister of Health and Social Services 

Luc Fortin
Minister of Families
Minister responsible for the Estrie region

Sébastien Proulx
Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports
Minister responsible for the Capitale-Nationale region

Hélène David
Minister responsible for Higher Education
Minister responsible for the Status of Women

David Heurtel
Minister of Immigration, Diversity and Inclusiveness

Martin Coiteux
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy
Minister of Public Security
Minister responsible for the Montréal region

Isabelle Melançon
Minister of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight Against Climate Change 

François Blais
Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity

Julie Boulet
Minister of Tourism
Minister responsible for the Mauricie region

Laurent Lessard
Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
Minister responsible for the Centre-du-Québec region

Kathleen Weil
Minister responsible for Access to Information and the Reform of Democratic Institutions
Minister responsible for Relations with English-speaking Quebecers

Christine St-Pierre
Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie
Minister responsible for the Laurentides region

Robert Poëti
Minister for the Integrity of Public Markets and Information Resources

Geoffrey Kelley
Minister responsible for Native Affairs

Dominique Vien
Minister responsible for Labour
Minister responsible for the Chaudière-Appalaches region
Deputy Government House Leader

Luc Blanchette
Minister of Forests, Wildlife and Parks
Minister responsible for the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region and the Nord-du-Québec region

Véronyque Tremblay
Minister for Transport

Francine Charbonneau
Minister responsible for Seniors and Anti-Bullying
Minister responsible for the Laval region

Lucie Charlebois
Minister for Rehabilitation, Youth Protection, Public Health and Healthy Living
Minister responsible for the Montérégie region

Jean D’Amour
Minister for Maritime Affairs
Minister responsible for the Bas-Saint-Laurent region

Also participating in the Cabinet:

Nicole Ménard
Chief Government Whip

Filomena Rotiroti
Chair of the Government Caucus